the basics of emotion

I’ve found myself watching Rise of the Planet of the Apes this afternoon, and my heart really breaks for Caesar. It really, really does. I mean, currently I am only about halfway into the film. Where Caesar steals the pocket knife of of Tom Felton’s dumb ass buddy. But anyway, Caesar just seems to be expressing the most basic primal emotions thus far into the movie. The things we all want.
Freedom, compassion, and most of all… Love.

He wants nothing more than to be reunited with his family in his home, to be with them and to protect them. But when James Franco can’t bring him home- of course he feels abandoned and betrayed. Everything that happened to him only happened because he did what any human would do for someone they loved and cared about deeply. He was protecting his “grandfather” from what he thought was an imminent threat. We’d all do the same thing- but then again we aren’t all chimpanzees.

So my heart really goes out to Caesar for this reason.

The other thing about this film that really gets to me is the greed and cruelty of humans. It is absolutely sick how Tom Felton’s character abused the animals in the infirmary without a second thought. I mean for God’s sake Malfoy, you’re still a dick how many years after Hogwarts? (that was a joke?)

On a side note, take everything I’ve said with a grain of salt, because I’m really just babbling and using the actors names because the first time I watch a film I’m way too invested in the plot to pay attention to the characters names. Besides Caesar I guess, but he’s the star of the show.

I also love the orangutan. He’s probably my favorite. Honestly, I wish I would have paid more attention to Intro to Anthropology and how much we learned about apes. I guess it’s a good thing I have to retake the course. Ha… Ha…

In any case, I wanted to vent some of my feelings about this movie while watching it.

Have a great day guys, I’ll try to update again soon.

PS: My life is still no longer in shambles, new title to come.

Leave a Reply

