How far have I come?

To those who don’t know me, I may seem lazy, slow, or unmotivated. Somedays, maybe that is true. We all have those days. I will also admit, I know I do not work to my complete potential, but that’s because I know my limits. If I work as hard as  I know I can, I know I will burn out. That’s not fair to me or those around me.

This year has been hard for me; seeing many other people I graduated high school with now graduating college. I am still here, with a year of undergrad left. I have fallen behind, but not for lack of effort or lack of intelligence. I fell behind for lack of direction and lack of passion.

I should have graduated this year, and had I not changed majors three times, or transferred colleges late in my education- I would be graduating this spring. Looking back on this last semester especially, I have noticed that I am exactly where I am meant to be. I am finally in the major I love, working in a job I enjoy, and am moving ahead to the path I want to be on.

So, even if I am graduating a year behind schedule, at least I can be confident in what I am doing. As an English major, I have received more support, praise, and encouragement from my professors, my peers, and the people in my personal life than I ever have before. My grades are better than they have been since high school. I am happier, as a person, in general. But Ultimately, I feel like I am finally where I belong, so no, I do not regret being “behind” a year. If anything, I am grateful for it.

We all stumble at times, but what matters is how we pick ourselves back up and who helps us along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

